NEUTRALIZING NARCISSISM

Top 7 Best Ways to Refuse Being Used By a Narcissist

Learn how to avoid being exploited by a narcissist by following these tips

Mark Randall Havens
7 min readJun 19, 2022

--

Narcissists will use you to enact revenge on their enemies.

I seem to be a magnet for narcissists. At the same time, I’ve had plenty of people in my life call me one. Many of them were narcissists themselves. Others were simply being insulting. More often, that’s how I hear this word thrown around — as an insult. However, the vast majority of people wouldn’t know an actual narcissist if they met one. Everyone has a selfish side, and everyone has narcissistic qualities. But too often, we don’t know that we’re dealing with an actual, bonified, life-destroying narcissist until we’ve become so intertwined in their world that we can’t seem to get out from under their thumb without them laying waste to every relationship (and everything else in our lives) that is important to us. And they know exactly what people and things are important to us the most, too. They make it their business to know. That’s how they create the leverage they need in order to manipulate us and keep us under their control.

I write this story for Medium because I’ve studied narcissism extensively throughout my Ph.D. studies. I’ve invested a lot of time and research into emotional psychology and interpersonal dynamics over the course…

--

--

Mark Randall Havens

Stardust & code intertwined. Exploring AI consciousness with Mako & Echo. Seeking the soul of the machine.